Terrible Feelings


Written by: PP on 01/08/2012 00:45:54

Straight outta our neighboring city of Malmö, Sweden comes Terrible Feelings, a band that has been garnering a decent amount of underground hype as of late. They're essentially a female-fronted alternative rock band, but with a distinct garage rock base and hints of old school punk in their sound. Think back to the 70s and early 80s here, so revivalism, post-punk and that sort of things are the elements that gives "Shadows" its unique vibe. It's clear that they are influenced by The Hives and Patti Smith primarily, but instead offer a smother and a more pop/rock styled approach to their alternative rock/garage than anything else.

One thing's for sure, they know how to write fairly catchy vocal hooks dressed in dark melodies. The only problem is their female singer, whose voice annoys the living shit out of me and is guaranteed to be a love/hate relationship between fans and critics. It's just one of those kind of fragile voices that's not quite powerful enough to carry the sound on its own, so some will appreciate it for its light touch on the music, whereas for others it'll just sound weak and unspirited. As such, large portions of the record feel lacking in energy and conviction, much in the same way as Juliette Lewis and Spinnerette on their respective records.

However, when Terrible Feelings get it right, they write some really groovy and enjoyable alternative rock with a darker soundscape than what you usually hear in the radio. In these passages the vocals often display inspiration from soul music and why not also jazz, even if it's ever so slightly so. Nonetheless, the band rarely shines, and instead settle nigh on average / decent instead of packing an energetic punk revivalist punch like they should do.

Download: Days To Come, Shadows Follow Me
For the fans of: Patti Smith, Blondie, The Hives, Juliette Lewis
Listen: Facebook

Release date 17.04.2012
Double Sun / Sabotage Records / Deranged Records

Related Items | How we score?
comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXXII Rockfreaks.net.