Beneath The Silence

Black Lights

Written by: PP on 29/01/2022 18:46:42

Beneath The Silence is a new gothic metal band from Århus, Denmark, whose debut album "Black Lights" is described in the press materials to "break the generic approach to melodic metal". We're not quite sure that's accurate. Adding a few metalcore-esque riffs into a high-pitched female vocal delivery with dramatic, theatrical soundscapes supported by synths does not equate to originality in our books.

Led by vocalist Mette Hessellund and some expansive melodic metal riffage, Beneath The Silence's expression follows largely the same heavy metal formula of Defecto if only it incorporated influence from gothic metal bands. Parallels to the likes of Lacuna Coil, Theatre Of Tragedy, Within Temptation, The Gathering, or any of the other few hundred or so near-identical bands from the typically Germany/Austria/Switzerland region are aplenty on the record. Given that Mette's vocals aren't particularly remarkable, the result is exactly the opposite of what the press release claims: generic, nothing-saying gothic metal that isn't salvaged by the occasional djenty, staccato riffage on the likes of "Take Over Me" or "Open Wounds".

When getting through forty minutes' worth of music on a record feels like a chore rather than something you look forward to, things aren't looking good. On "Black Lights", Beneath The Silence rarely rises above mediocrity. Instead, they are drowning in derivative, uninspiring soundscapes and boring songs that barely leave any impression once you're done listening to the album. It's just so incredibly samey throughout the entire record. So despite featuring skilled guitarists, the overall sound presented on "Black Lights" just isn't particularly interesting, even if it isn't outright terrible.


Download: In The Shadow Of Your Eyes, Take Over Me, Fear
For the fans of: Defecto, Theatre Of Tragedy, Lacuna Coil, Within Temptation
Listen: Facebook

Release date 11.02.2022
Prime Collective

Related Items | How we score?
comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXXII